Rejection Letters, The Road Not Taken

Dear readers, remember how we sent out a call for rejection letters for the upcoming show, It’s Not Us, It’s You?  Well even prior to this request, Barbara Kossy, an artist working in Moss Beach, had taken rejection letter accumulation to the next level.  She scanned 150 rejection letters she received over a 20 year period and posted them on Facebook here, here and here.

Some dating 20 years ago, I asked her how she felt about this collection now.  Here is what she said:

Reading each one now sends me into a revery where I imagine a life trajectory if I had landed that job. What if I had worked for the Oakland Tribune? Or gotten the job at Apple, or even the Getty? What if I had worked for Otis Spunkmeyer Cookies, or coordinated ad traffic for a radio station, or started with an ad agency, or a newsletter for ophthalmologists? Maybe it’s a good thing I didn’t get any of those jobs. I eventually found work with an engineering company doing an in-house newsletter. It was in the Trans America Pyramid. I wrote about civil engineering, used a Mac, did my nails, and dressed up. I have the acceptance letter. It was the gateway to my current and very interesting life.

reject1

And why in the world would you post all 150 of the letters on Facebook?
Facebook is a great place for self-agrandizement. I like the deadpan and self-depreciating nature of the letters. They look refreshing compared to puppies and kids and vacation pictures.

Barbara, thank you so much for sharing your letters.  Can’t wait to see all of the rejection letters together at the opening on April 3.

