THE THING About THE THING

Who does not love getting packages in the mail? Even if you know it’s the book you just ordered online, opening a well-packaged cardboard box or beautifully sealed-up manila envelope holds a special kind of glee.  So when I got this in the mail from The Thing Quarterly, an object based subscription edited by Jonn Herschend and Will Rogan, you can imagine how I must have felt.  (My inside voice said, ‘YIPEE!!’  Though I played it cool so my cube neighbor would not think any less of me).

thething

Come to our next Talking Art on May 14 from 7-9pm with guest speaker Jonn Herschend and I promise to show you the cool and strange object  Trisha Donnelly produced for this publication.

For the May 14 Talking Art, Herschend has curated an evening of clever and humorous video work for us to sit-back and enjoy. More than likely he’ll also give us the inside scoop on his experimental publishing project, his facination with things falling apart and why office culture is so funny. We’ll provide the beer and popcorn.  Can’t wait to see you there!!

Jonn Herschend is an interdisciplinary artists preoccupied with how emotional confusion, absurdity and veracity play out in the realm of the everyday.  His work is currently part of It’s Not Us, It’s You exhibiting at the ICA until June 20.

