Cotton Candy and Vending Carts

After presenting a dunk tank  and a hot dog vending cart at the SubZero festival two weeks ago, I am  now scheming as to how to include a cotton candy machine in a future ICA program. A friend sent me the link to a show called Global Street Food curated by Mike Meire at the Vitra Design Museum in Weil am Rhein, Germany. The show happens to include a stunning cotton candy display.

“Grill” from Kampala, Uganda

Cotton Candy Stand from Buenas Aires, Argentina

Though I am not going to Germany anytime soon, I am so excited about this exhibition which includes improvised kitchens typically found in public places from around the world as readymade art objects in a gallery. Check it out.

“Grill” from Kampala, Uganda

“Coffee wagon” from Buenos Aires, Argentina

“Coffee wagon” from Buenos Aires, Argentina

I’ll keep you posted with my cotton candy schemes, let me know if you have any thoughts.

